Michael Grant’s FAYZ Series

I started reading the FAYZ books three years ago because it seemed like every middle schooler in our library wanted Gone, and you know that’s a good sign.  I loved Gone and Hunger, but got a little bogged down by the third title in the series, Lies.  So when Plague arrived in the library last year, I didn’t pick it up… until last week.  At which point, I spent my entire evening (and part of my afternoon at work–it counts! I’m a librarian!), tearing through the story.  Luckily for me, I didn’t have to wait for the next book to come out; Fear had just been released, so I immediately purchased it on the Kindle, and finished it the next day.

For those of you who haven’t started the series, the premise is that one afternoon a dome suddenly appears over a town in California, leaving only those under the age 15 inside.  For the first four books, the reader has no idea what happened to the people above that age, as the story focuses on life inside the dome.  The series reads like a mash-up of Lord of the FliesLost (as in the TV show), and X-Men. In other words, pure awesomeness. Stephen King’s Under the Dome (which I enjoyed) has got nothing on this.

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

