To Kindle or not to Kindle?

Last week, I became the very lucky and grateful recipient of an iPad.  Our school is looking into a 1:1 program, and as the first step, ordered iPads for all the teachers.  We started receiving them last week (it was like Christmas!  for everyone except our IT guy…) and everyone I’ve talked to is super excited, even if they are currently unsure about what to do with them. Thankfully, the faculty is going to have a year to experiment and learn about the educational uses of our iPads, so that if the 1:1 roll out does happen, we will be as prepared as possible to use them with our students.

I’m sure that I will have tons of blog posts related to the iPads and the library, but right now I’m in the midst of a personal decision.  Do I still want/need to use my Kindle?  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my Kindle.  It has done me right for a couple of years now and never let me down. We’ve had good times together.  But now, I can see covers!  I can have color!  I can… well, I don’t even know what I can do because I haven’t tried, but I’m sure it’s all cool.

What are the pros to using  my Kindle instead?  Right now, the one I can think of is the issue of backlighting and reading in the sun.  Summer time is reading time for me, and I try to do as much of that out in the sun as I can.  I’m not sure what kind of glare I will get on the iPad screen.  And also, do I really want my iPad at the pool with me??  Or the beach?  Probably not.  So Kindle, you are safe for now.

2 thoughts on “To Kindle or not to Kindle?

  1. I am a librarian at an all girls school in Baltimore and I love the ipad program. This is the first year with all the girls having them. I would be happy to answer any questions you may have. They are great for the library. However, I do still love my kindle.

Leave a Reply

