Hub Challenge Books 5-8

It’s been a while since I updated my progress on the Hub Challenge.  (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check out this previous post.)  I’m not as far along as I’d hoped to be at this point, since other books keep catching my eye, but I’m enjoying myself nonetheless.  Without further ado, I give you books 5-8.

dahmerMy Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf

This book was right up my Criminal Minds watching alley.  It’s the story, told in graphic novel format, of a young Jeffrey Dahmer.  Backderf actually attended school with Dahmer, and so he writes from personal experience about the boy who was to become one of the most notorious serial killers in American history. Fascinating.

 

girlchild

Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman

I actually think I owe this book a re-read.  I wanted so much to know what was going to happen to the main character and her family, that I didn’t take time to truly savor the beautiful writing of Hassman.  The story centers on a young girl, her single mother, and her grandmother, who live in a trailer park in Nevada, and it’s the story of the best and worst sides of a small community. I would recommend this book for older students, as it has some intense scenes of sexual abuse.

 

silence-of-our-friends

The Silence of Our Friends by Mark Long

This is another great graphic novel and work of narrative nonfiction, which provides readers an in depth look at two families’ stories during the Civil Rights era in American history.

 

makeup

Putting Makeup on the Fat Boy by Bil Wright

My favorite part of this novel was easily the voice of the main character, Carlos: he’s driven, passionate, caring, and very funny.  His relationships with his friends and family are realistic and engaging, and add just enough drama to the story to make it interesting, without being over the top. You’ll definitely be rooting for Carlos the whole way through this fabulous read.

Leave a Reply

