The House at Pooh Corner: Student Book Review

poohFor my free read, I read the book, The House At Pooh Corner, by A. A. Milne. This book was a wonderful story about friendship and the bond between a child and their toys. Having already read the first book in the Hundred Acre Wood series, I was anxious to read how the story continued.

Each chapter is a different adventure between the characters. All of the chapters begin with the words, “In which”.In the beginning of the book, I did not enjoy it very much, but by the middle I was reading it every day. The stories are captivating and sweet, too.

Ernest Shepard’s illustrations were very beautiful and allowed me to see the characters differently. My favorite character is Pooh, because he is interesting and makes lots of funny songs. Pooh is much smarter than he believes. Pooh often refers to himself as “a bear with little brain”, however his creativity allows him to come up with smart solutions to the problems that he and his friends face.

I enjoyed listening to Eeyore complain and Piglet worry, but my favorite part of the book, by far, is the relationship between Christopher Robin and his toys. In one of the chapters, Christopher Robin leaves a note telling his toys where he has gone. Christopher Robin has always loved his toys and looked after them. Reading the stories of Winnie-the-Pooh has allowed me to think in a different depth. The way that Christopher Robin believes his toys are real, and that the book is technically from the perspective of Christopher Robin, even though he only appears a few times.

In the last chapter, the writer expresses how something is troubling Christopher Robin. I can feel the self-conflict with himself. Christopher Robin is getting older and he is confused about his toys. He is starting to realize that his toys might not be alive or even real. At the end of the book, Christopher Robin says, “Pooh, promise you won’t forget about me, ever. Not even when I’m a hundred.” He knows that his friendship with Pooh might not last forever.

But, Christopher Robins wants to remember Pooh, as well as the other way around. The author wrote Pooh’s response to his question with this’ “How old shall I be then?”

“Ninety-nine.”

“Pooh nodded. ‘I promise,’ he said.”

The House at Pooh Corner is a well-written book that has with held the test of time since 1926.

-Annie Bennett, grade 7

Leave a Reply

